• MY CART    0

    Your cart is currently empty.

Chakra balance -root chakra-

Posted on 03 April 2018


The way I see it the chakra system is the delicate energy field of any living being. As humans we are usually believed to have seven chakras each located in a  specific area of the body starting from the base of the spine all the way up to the top of the head. Each chakra has a colour representing a specific chakra and each chakra is believed to represent a specific body functions. The chakras in a healthy body are in balance and the energy field is strong and vibrant. 


Aromatherapy for chakras


The chakra system originates in Buddhism and Hinduism history and the word chakra comes from Sanskrit language meaning wheel or circle. The system has been used for thousands of years and is still very much alive today. Often in yoga or meditation practice you hear people focusing on energy or chakra balancing. This system is also often referred to in acupuncture or traditional Thai massage treatments. Practicing old style exercises like tai chi or chi gong are believed to balance the chakras and heal the body and its energy field. There are also believed to be a different frequency level to each chakra and you can find many recordings of sounds or music with specific hertz being used for chakra balance.  

There are many sceptics who see the chakra system as pure nonsense, but there have been scientific studies done on human energy field. Quite often quantum physics is linked to these studies and it has almost become a new fashion trend. My personal opinion is that there are so many things we can not explain and some are difficult to scientifically prove, but it doesn’t mean they do not exist. I totally believe all living beings are a bundle of energy wrapped in a body. Often it is easier to ignore things than to accept that we can not completely understand them. 


Aromatherapy for root chakra


You can feel another persons energy field by gently placing hands a couple of inches away from the body on their back and gently pushing towards them. The energy field feels soft and warm. Another way to feel it is to sit opposite to your partner and place your palms on your lap and they place their hands on top of yours a few inches apart, palms facing each other. You can feel the energy flow from your hands to theirs. With little practice you can also use kinesiology techniques to test your own body’s energy response to different things. Check out this short video to get started 5-Kinesiology (Self testing)   

Read more on Collective Evolution: Scientists quantify and graphically chart alignment of human chakras in various emotional states  

Our first chakra is root chakra, Muladhara, which is located at the base of the spine. This chakra as the name suggests is your connection to the mother earth and holds the animalistic, primal energy. Its colour is deep red and it holds your past experiences and deep rooted challenges. In a way it is the starting point of your life journey.  Looking after this chakra is important for the whole body wellbeing. This chakra is related to the issues of the organs in this area, bowls, hips or urinary system. 



To balance your root chakra you can try meditations, affirmations, yoga or other gentle exercises like tai chi. You can also use essential oils by making a blend or use a single oil in a burner or diffuser during your practice. You can also place a drop of the essential oil for example on the mat you are using in your practice. You can also use the essential oils in your candles or on your crystals. Check out these affirmations to get started    

Essential oils

Essential oils recommended for root chakra are earthy, woody or resin essential oils. They are grounding and meditative brining the energy down to the base of the body. You can use them as individual scents or blend some or all of them together. 

Some great essential oils are angelica, benzoin, cedar wood, frankincense, myrrh, oak moss, patchouli, spikenard, vetiver, sandalwood

Crystals for root chakra


Crystals recommended for root chakra are red, dark and powerful. You can use them as a single rock by holding them or placing them on your body or you can create jewellery from the beads. You can also use mala beads from crystals in your mediation practice.

Some of the recommended crystals are bloodstone, garnet, red agate, red aventurine, red jasper, red tiger eye, ruby, hematite, black obsidian, black tourmaline, onyx


Hope you enjoyed this article. Do you use anything to balance your chakras? Please leave your comments below



More Posts


Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

Search our store